The Swan Inn -
Craven Road, Lower Green, Inkpen, Hungerford, Berkshire, RG17 9DX
-
01488 668326

Recent Reviews From Tripadvisor,CAMRA,Google and Yelp.

Reviewed 20 Jun 2017

I recently had a delicious meal at your pub and was hugely impressed.

"Swanning around in Berkshire" Reviewed 7 Jun 2017

We stayed at the Swan for a couple of nights in early June. If you are expecting a plastic, impersonal, chain hotel, don't stay here! The Swan is one of those places that is hard to find nowadays. It is a proper pub, with proper pub hospitality, and proper pub food - and good clean bedrooms. Inkpen is 'off the beaten track', so the clientele centres mainly on a solid bunch of locals and visitors out for a bit of a hike. But it would be hard to find a friendlier place to stay. The publican, the staff and the locals are all delightful people who made us thoroughly welcome. The Swan does have certain eccentricities, so be prepared for that. But, for us, that just makes it more interesting and enjoyable. A very pleasant stay in the Berkshire countryside.

Reviewed 6 June 2017

Thanks for a very comfortable, and very entertaining, couple of days.

Reviewed 23 May 2017

Fun good service and good food.

"Good food and excellent service" Reviewed 17 May 2017

We visited this pub on a very wet Wednesday and so it was very quiet and lacked a little atmosphere. We found the food to be excellent and very good value and the service was effiicient and friendly. The pub was clean and tidy and although thegents was clean it could do with an update. The surrounding countryside is beautiful so we will probably return.

"Quality Pub and Restaurant" Reviewed 17 May 2017

I have eaten , drunk and occasionally stayed at The Swan before when working in the area. Last Saturday I ate there with friends when a music evening was the attraction. The food was excellent, particularly the Brie starter and beef which I believe came from the owners farm. All this with good service and modest prices too. It should be added that the bar offers a good range of beers and not just the routine ones you find everywhere. All this makes for a magnificent country pub/restaurant.

Reviewed 17 May 2017

Thanks Bernard and everyone for the enjoyable gig….and the excellent food…. all the best Chris Jagger

Reviewed 16 May 2017

We had a lovely stay at the inn last Saturday night, celebrating my aunt’s birthday. Lucinda Dawson

“Proper country pub” Reviewed 12 May 2017

The locals were friendly and welcoming, especially the cow man Andy, It is nice to find a quality traditional pub that hasn't gone down the soulless trendy wine bar route, good food, nice atmosphere and local beer. I will definitely be back. Liam M.

"Nice drinks, friendly staff" Reviewed 15 April 2017

“Warm welcome in delightful countryside” Reviewed 25 March 2017

Lunched here after walk on Inkpen Common, friendly greeting and good service. Great, well kept local bitter and very tasty food from long menu with interesting choices. Great centre for exploring local countryside on foot or bike. Lots of seating options for different sized groups.

“Excellent Pub! Fabulous organic beef on offer in a true English setting” Reviewed 22 February 2017

When we walked in, this was just the pub that you imagine in the English countryside. Warm, inviting and rustic. Lots of character and characters! Run by an organic beef farmer so you can only imagine how good the steaks are. We were fortunate to attend the pub birthday celebration and a really cool band were performing a set of folky bluesy music. It was magic. Well worth a visit.

“Lovely country pub” Reviewed 17 December 2016

Excellent food organic meat farm shop and no canned music very friendly and efficient service old style pubs, which are peaceful and welcoming like this are so valuable to the local community - and passing walkers a favourite pub in lovely countryside, with excellent walks.

" Brilliant Service" Reviewed 12 November 2016

The service was brilliant the location has a nice view the rooms are acceptable

“A true English pub with great food and hospitality.” Reviewed 09 November 2016

A group of 11 visited on Sunday to celebrate an 86th birthday, with prior arrangement we reserved a table in the private dining area, having seen the rest of the pub with its roaring fires I think we would have been happy wherever. I can safely say the roast beef was one of the best I've ever had, the roast potatoes were great too. The landlord was friendly and helpful. This is not a poncy restaurant but great countryside pub. WE WILL BE BACK

“Nice countryside. Fairly quiet.” Reviewed 1 October 2016

My wife and I stayed four nights. The owners were away, so it was left to Andy, a local agricultural worker, to manage the place - assisted by Victor and Lucy, a Spanish couple. It's a decent village pub with an organic-food shop attached, and our breakfasts were exemplary. Our twin-bedded room was clean and orderly. Andy was straight out of central casting and would not have disgraced any episode of 'The Archers'. Lucy spoke adequate English and was an obliging waitress and barmaid.

"Birthday lunch" Reviewed 18th August

Had my birthday lunch there. The steaks are excellent. We bought more in the farm shop to take home. Set in fab Berkshire countryside this is everyone's idea of a typical English pub. Will definitely return.

“Peaceful and relaxing” Reviewed on 23rd July

I checked in for one night with my 8 year old daughter. No real reason other than to escape High Wycombe for a while. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. I found the staff charming (Helen, in particular) and the locals we met were friendly and welcoming. One even took us to the nearby farm so my daughter could see newborn calves (thanks Andy). There wasn't a great deal to do other than walks and to enjoy the tranquil and beautiful scenery. I thought my daughter may have got bored but she actually talked me into extending our stay by an extra night! I have read comments about the place needing some modernisation but I beg to differ. Too many fine old inns try this and it can take away the charm and character. Also, I was careless enough to leave our Enid Blyton book behind but a few days letter it landed on our doormat. Last word comes from my daughter, who wanted me to say that the shower was lovely :)

“Full of Character” Reviewed on 29th July

Lovely Inn which is full of character and characters. We found it very welcoming and friendly. Our room was clean and tidy and fulfilled our requirements. Will certainly stay again next time we visit Hungerford We ate lunch there which was a very good standard for pub food. Situated a little further outside of Hungerford than we expected but the location is ideal for walkers or for people looking for a quiet location. Stayed July 2016, travelled as a couple

“Good Sunday Lunch” Reviewed 26th June

I have just got back from having Sunday lunch @ The Swan, I have know this pub for 25 to 30 yrs and the last time I was year was 3 years ago. There were 4 of us eating today and we had the menu choice of Roast Beef that was the only roast on the menu but if you didn't want the roast there were loads for different choices including a specials board. The roast beef was good not out of this world but tender tasty it was served with nice veg, yorkshire pudding and more than enough roast potatoes. We all had desserts which I thought were slightly overpriced for what they were but having said that I enjoyed my fruit crumble and ice cream all pudding were £5.95. The service was fine but the pub itself is slightly tired looking, it could do with a freshen up and brought up to date I realise it is an old country pub but I think it could do with a slight make over, it looked very much the same as it did 3 yrs ago. We did all enjoy our food and there were quite a few other people enjoying their lunch. There is a good size outside area to sit and drink and eat weather permitting.

“Good and interesting food." Reviewed 12th June 2016

We came for a Saturday lunch in May, and when we arrived there was only one other person there and when we left there was also a table of 10 there, so it was quite quiet. In addition to being a pub it is also an organic farm and has shop, as well as other facilities. The menu is interesting with a few items I had not come across before so for starters we ordered a home cured Bresaola (which is apparently an Italian air-dried, salted beef), which was very tasty and the trio of smoked fish. Both were well prepared and presented. For main course we had beef stroganoff and a sirloin steak. The meat was both very tasty and tender and the stroganoff very good. I imagine it would be a beautiful location to eat outside or to stop if you were doing one of the many local walks. Regardless the food was very good.

"Nice Pub" Reviewed 26 May 2016

Amazing Sausages and Mash. Great pint, service, sticky toffee and locals 😄

“The most welcoming pub we have visited in years” Reviewed 21 May 2016

As soon as we walked in the door we were welcomed by the landlord. We passed a pleasant time chatting with the Landlord, Landlady and Locals. We were preparing for our sons wedding at a venue nearby and just called in for a meal. A previous reviewer mentioned the beef which is produced on the landlords farm, it is delicious, our experience in the Swan that night was so good that we arranged to take more than 20 guests to have Sunday lunch there on the day after the wedding, the roast beef was delicious. Several wedding guest also stayed at the swan for bed and breakfast.

“Thanks for everything!” Reviewed 25 April 2016

Lovely stay. Enjoyed our visit. Brisket -all the best to you and your cows!!

“A true gem” Reviewed 23 April 2016

Fabulous night, rural pub. Fabulous food and drink! AND overflowing with character

“Unspoilt, perfect winter pub” Reviewed 23 April 2016

Went a couple of weeks ago (live in the village) with local friends who hadn't been there for a while. Quiz night started around us which drew a friendly crowd. Good beer, a huge lasagne and chips, warming fire, made for a fine evening. It seems that if a pub hasn't been Gastro-fied, like the Swan, it is out of time and date which is a huge pity. My late Father didn't get to join me for a pint here but would have loved it - a 'proper pub' he would have said. Having 3 small children doesn't make me a regular (darn) but if you want to visit an unspoilt pub do go as there aren't many left. Enjoy this fine part of the country with a pint of warm. Stayed March 2016, travelled with friends

“Traditional and friendly” Reviewed 22 April 2016

The middle of rural England this is a fantastic example of a local pub. Warm, friendly with loads of examples of the history of this quiet area. Don't expect 7* luxury but do expect clean, friendly with everything you need. If you're not British and want to see a real look at the people, this is the place. Their own organic farm shop means the food is first rate which will give you the energy needed to walk through this beautiful countryside.

“Lovely old English Pub in a beautiful area of Berkshire” Reviewed 14 April 2016”

My husband and I visited this pub last Sunday lunchtime out of curiosity on my part as I am researching my family tree and one of my ancestors was the pub landlord back in the 1800's. We were able to leave our car in the pub car park while we went for a lovely walk. We were very impressed with both the beautiful setting, although it is next to the road, and the pub garden which is in tiers with plenty of seating. The inside has a lovely 'real old pub' atmosphere - warm, homely, welcoming and cosy with a log fire burning. We had a drink when we arrived and returned after our walk for another drink and a peek into the farm shop adjoining the pub before we made our way back to Reading. We would like to return again to dine in the restaurant and as there is also accommodation at The Swan Inn ( 10 en-suite rooms) it would be rather nice to stay overnight to explore the area at leisure.

"Pleasant Staff" Reviewed 15 March 2016

Quiet country pub, pleasant staff.

"Five Stars" Reviewed 25 February 2016

Good food and service.

“Good walking base in a quiet pub” Reviewed 13 November 2015

Stayed with three friends for a walking weekend - very happy to find somewhere that could provide us with two twin bedded rooms. The rooms were clean and simple with small shower room. There was a plenty of hot water which was great after a very rainy walk on Saturday - the bathrooms could perhaps do with a bit of updating. Breakfast was served in a small dining room and service was friendly. The full English breakfast was freshly cooked. We ate in the dining room of the pub both nights of our stay and the food was fine - I particularly enjoyed the beef mince and onion pie and the sticky toffee pudding. I would have given this a 4 out of 5 but the pub was extremely quiet and therefore lacked a bit of atmosphere but it was a good base for walking in the area. Mobile phone coverage was very poor (not the pub's fault) but there was wifi in the bar.

“Pleasantly surprised...” Reviewed 30 October 2015

My husband and I popped in to The Swan for Dinner and were given a very warm welcome by the Portugese Barman and the 'resident local'. We then ordered our food which was most enjoyable and once again the waiter/barman was very good.

“Good walking base in a quiet pub” Reviewed 24 October 2015

Stayed with three friends for a walking weekend - very happy to find somewhere that could provide us with two twin bedded rooms. The rooms were clean and simple with small shower room. There was a plenty of hot water which was great after a very rainy walk on Saturday - the bathrooms could perhaps do with a bit of updating. Breakfast was servied in a small dining room and service was friendly. The full English breakfast was freshly cooked. We ate in the dining room of the pub both nights of our stay and the food was fine - I particularly enjoyed the beef mince and onion pie and the sticky toffee pudding.

“4 Drowned Off road mountain bikers find a warm welcome” Reviewed 26 September 2015

Having got absolutely drenched on the way to the Swan, we were warmly greeted by Andy,a rather eccentric chap & a lovely Spanish lady.In an instant we had cups of tea in our hands & were soon enjoying warm showers & a change of clothes.Our experience was very positive. Little things like ensuring that our bikes were locked away securely and radiators aplenty for our wet gear,made all the difference.Our dinner was excellent & the service levels just as good.Andy reappeared in the morning to send us off into the hills in the sunshine!! Thanks for a great stay. Stayed September 2015, travelled with friends.

“Nice pub and location” Reviewed 25 September 2015

We went for the beef, which was good. Salad very good, chips plentiful. Very nice, large old pub with pleasant outside seating area. Service very pleasant and attentive. I would have liked some warmth, however, on a chilly evening. Would return on a sunny day, and would eat again.

“Walk break” Reviewed 24 September 2015

Dropped in for lunch during a long walk around Inkpen including the hillforts and the double gibbet. Lunch was great and the Czech beer was brilliant. Good service from the Spanish bar ladies and great atmosphere

“Wonderful rural setting, good food, excellent service, tasty beer” Reviewed 24 June 2015

Called in for lunch and appreciated the quite rural setting with only the sounds of nature. The locally produced food and beer was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful. Hope to return again to continue exploring this beautiful area.

“Fantastic food, lovely location and a warm welcome!” Reviewed 12 June 2015

We found this lovely pub at about half past four last Sunday, having been on a day out in Wiltshire and were now on our way home. Even though they had stopped serving lunch, the very friendly landlord said they could still do us a roast and so we sat outside on the pub's raised terrace, overlooking the beautiful Berkshire countryside and enjoyed succulent roast beef, massive Yorkshire puddings and two generous bowls of fresh veg each. The landlord invited us back another time and friendly locals chatted to us as well. If you are looking for a traditional inn, nestled in beautiful countryside, serving excellent food with a warm welcome assured then this is definitely one pub you should visit.

“Lovely little village and a great community feel at The Swan Inn.” Reviewed 2 June 2015

I didn't stay here but wish I had. I will next time. I was doing family tree research in Inkpen and called in to the Swan Inn for a coffee. I sat and talked for about an hour and was invited back for an evening meal and to stay for the pub quiz. I had a wonderful evening, was made to feel very welcome by the staff and the other patrons. Many thanks to you all for a great evening.

“Annual cycling trip.” Reviewed 27 May 2015

10 of us stayed two nights at the Swan Inn and used it as a base for our annual cycle trip. Bernard Mary and Lucia gave us a very warm welcome and the food and beer were excellent. Would recommend the area to other cycling groups - plenty of variety - challenging hills, quiet lanes and the canal towpath. The Swan Inn makes a very comfortable base.

“A great traditional pub with very friendly staff” Reviewed 22 May 2015

Had lunch here during the week having walked 9 miles to get there. Very warm welcome and we chatted to the owner about walks in the area. We had the beef and horseradish sandwich which came very quickly and was delicious. The salad was not smothered in dressing and it came with a nice coleslaw. Prices were very reasonable, a pint, half a cider and two sandwiches for £15.00, our usual walking lunch normally comes to about £20.

“A Real Find” Reviewed 18 May 2015

This is an excellent, hidden gem with a relaxed traditional atmosphere. Friendly and interesting landlord. Very good choice of beers

" Pub supports organic farm and brewery" Reviewed 8 May 2015"

THE SOUTH EAST FARMER magazine published a two page article on the integrated organic food business run from The Swan Inn emphasing the importance of local business supporting each other and creating local employment and food as an alternative to cheap supermarket alcohol and factory made ready meals.

“Full of beefy goodness” Reviewed 4 May 2015

We gave Kintbury a miss because it was impossible to park, and ended up at this quiet pub restaurant with a farm shop (and easy parking) in the tiny village of Inkpen. Its outstanding feature was its own organically home grown beef, which features in several items on the menu. I've not tasted beef that good for a long while.

“Fantastic food, lovely location” Reviewed 28 March 2015

We stopped here after a walk in the local area and had the fish & chips and roast beef with yorkshire pudding. The roast beef was a big dish with veg on the side and extra gravy. The yorkshire pudding was slightly burned on the edges but other than that it was a fantastic dish. The fish was one of the best I've had, beautifully cooked and a really good cut of fish. I had the dauphinois potatoes instead of chips and it was the best dauphinois I've had, absolutely delicious! The staff were really friendly and helpful and the pub had a nice relaxed feel to it. Although on a road, it's a very quiet road and the pub has plenty of outside seating overlooking fields. We also bought some cuts of meat from the organic shop (it was closed this Sunday afternoon but they opened it on request for us to shop). The quality of food and service this was a great pub and we'll most likely go back another sunny day.

"Fantastic food, lovely location" Reviewed 22 March 2015

We stopped here after a walk in the local area and had the fish & chips and roast beef with yorkshire pudding. The roast beef was a big dish with veg on the side and extra gravy. The yorkshire pudding was slightly burned on the edges but other than that it was a fantastic dish. The fish was one of the best I've had, beautifully cooked and a really good cut of fish. I had the dauphinois potatoes instead of chips and it was the best dauphinois I've had, absolutely delicius! The staff were really friendly and helpful and the pub had a nice relaxed feel to it. Although on a road, it's a very quiet road and the pub has plenty of outside seating overlooking fields. We also bought some cuts of meat from the organic shop ( it was closed this Sunday afternoon but they opened it on request for us to shop)

“Encantado” Reviewed 7 March 2015 “Walking Group Lunch for 20”

In the same group as the previous reviewer and found this pub enchanting. The Spanish staff were extremely friendly and efficient, the food and drinks were reasonably priced . My parsnip soup was delicious and I shared a companion's ploughmans because there was so much cheese he couldn't finish it! Muy bien y muchas gracias

Reviewed 7 March 2015

We called by prior arrangement on a Saturday for a light lunch - all booked beforehand. The pub was quiet but the fire was lit and it was very cosy, though we ate outside in the spring sun. We were greeted very hospitably by the Spanish barmaid - one of several Spanish staff, all very pleasant and with excellent English (certainly better than our Spanish, though they let us try!). Our various sandwiches, ploughman's lunches etc arrived promptly. Portions were generous and the food of an excellent quality. Altogether a very pleasant experience and we would all go back

“Great Place - Still a local - Real Ale- Exquisite cuisine- Accommodation” Reviewed 24 January 2015

There are two Places you can eat drink sleep in Inkpen. Whether you choose one two or all three. Then do them at the SWAN INN - It is an upmarket friendly country pub/restaurant /Inn. Food produced there is comparable with any 5* Ambience of the place is Olde Worldly/mixed with modern theme . If you Intend visiting Hungerford or surrounding area , looking for a place to stay. Avoid Hungerford Hotels make the short drive to Inkpen Village. Find the Swan Inn though the narrow winding lanes. You will not be disappointed. If/When you arrive you may be fortunately enough to meet one of the charismatic locals at the bar, there are many but this one stands out , Andy Painting .lol Send him my regards.

Kathryn Sunday Lunch Reviewed 14 December 2014>

We met friends at the pub and whilst it was very quiet the food was great Myself and a friend ordered large burguers which were nice, but we had food envy of the organic sausages and the beef in a massive Yorkshire pudding, next time that's my order!

Gina Family Lunch 7 Decemeber 2014

Thank you so much for lovely time that we all had in your restaurant for our pre-Christmas present swop. The food was amazing and the level of service was impeccable, especially as there was so many of us. You made us feel very welcome and I know everyone in the family really enjoyed themselves.

Pub Reviewed 6 December 2014

We have been to this pub a few times this year and the food and service has been consistenly good. They specialise in organic beef and every dish we've had has been really tasty and cooked to perfection. Not the cheapest pub food but definitely not over-price and certanly worth every penny. Plenty of parking, lovely sitting, good selection of ales and ever-present friendly local!!

Liz "Lunch" Reviwed 19th September 2014

We recently had a very enjoyable walk around Inkpen, culminating in lunch at The Swan. There were 16 of us and the staff coped well with the numbers. Everything had been pre-ordered, it all arrived at the same time and there were no complaints about the food. It is good, home-cooked pub fare with an Italian bent. The pasta dishes were particularly good, as were the homemade pies.

Tony Hamnett Reviewed 11th September 2014

Butts-Surprisingly good for a southern beer!

Ethan Long Reviewed 12th August 2014

Butts Beer, Excellent!

“Perfect for lunch, a short break anything!” Reviwed 29th July 2014

We dropped in here for lunch on the way to Devizes. It's in a lovely spot with access to hills where para-gliders go. The Pub/restaurant area is what a pub should be. They have their own organic ale from Butts which my husband said was very good. The staff were helpful especially the young lady from Valencia. We had a prawn sandwich and a ham and mustard sandwich. The sandwiches were of a good size with a side salad and gorgeous coleslaw. They serve organic beef, have 10 luxury ensuite bedrooms, free wifi and an organic farm shop - so if you are around that area it's well worth dropping in.

Simon Waite Reviewed July 2014

Great staff and very friendly atmosphere.

Paul Eliot Camra Member(Lapsed) Reviewed 3 July 2014

Butts Beer very drinkable, very refreshing.

Chrissie Rickman Reviewed 22 June 2014

Organic Jester-Fab, Well needed oasis, friendly

V.Long 5th June 2014

Butts Beer Perfect. Consistently excellent.

Mark Hugo Reviewed 30th May 2014

Used by our group of 5 cyclists recently. The owners were particularly helpful with the storage of our bicycles. Clean rooms, superb food from their own farm, friendly catering+bar staff and locals. Also good beer (local brew Butt's) which was well kept. Overall the best night of our cycling tour. I hope to revisit soon for a long weekend

Paul Reviewed 29th May 2014

Shabby and dated but perfect for walkers who are most welcome (providing you take your boots off). The £3.50 Butts Traditional was probably the best pint I had all weekend in the Hungerford area; also on sale were Butts Jester and Cheddar's Mild (both £3.35). The friendly landlord even opened up the farm shop so that I could buy some of his organic beef and more Butts (in bottles).

Steve Morgan (Camra Member Before 1978) Reviewed 19th May 2014

Butts Jester, Good colour, full, Lively bitter Flavour with length.

Karen Bowen Camra Member Reviewed 26th April 2014

Cheddar Ales- Mild Cheddar very good.

Mr R Cox-Smith Reviewed 17th April 2014

Good service and food. Beer kept well.

“Very good steak and beer” Reviewed 14th April 2014

Arrived early evening with my wife at The Swan after a 13 mile walk, it is not in our direct home area and we had not visited for several years so we are not known. We felt very welcome and engaged in conversation on our arrival, information about the beers provided and guidance on the menus, seating and serving times for dinner provided. I had what must rate as one of the finest ever steaks ever eaten, it was so tender and a good portion size which was well received after my long walk. The beer was good too - next time I visit in July having just booked a table for 8 with a walk group I hope for a 2nd pint!

Steve Prior Reviewed 12th April 2014

Butts Traditional a great beer after a long walk.

James Group of friends Reviewed 10th April 2014

Comfortable room & good food

Mike Waring Reviewed 5th April 2014

Lovely pub. Made to feel welcome as soon as we walked in. The food is amazing too. All Homemade, organic and produced by the owners.

“Lovely Sunday lunch”Reviewed 30th March

Having met up with some old friends and had a lovely walk around the countryside of inkpen we went on to the swan for lunch. As a party of 4 adults and 2 children we were welcomed by the staff and well looked after. Both the Yorkshire pudding loaded with beef and ale and the beef and onion pie from the neighbouring farm were delicious and to be recommended. The warm chocolate fudge cake & sticky toffee pudding were enjoyed by all. Would definitely go back and recommend to others looking for a traditional country pub with good food. Traveled with friends.

“Tasty Sunday lunch” Reviewed 29th March

After a wonderful country walk with friends we had a late lunch at the Swan. What a fantastic place. Children were welcome and they loved the crayfish in the tank. The food was delicious. I had a mince and onion pie which was out of this world. Lovely to know where your beef comes from. We bought a joint of beef from the shop and ate it last Sunday. It's not often you can really taste the difference between organic and non organic but this joint was exceptional.

“Lovely location”Reviewed 25th March

I've called in on the Swan a number of times, both with walkers and having driven with my better half. The welcome has been friendly on all occasions and the local organic beer from Butts is excellent. There's a vast menu that prominently features local and organic produce and does a good classic pub sandwich selection, ideal for walkers.

Mr. RJ Golder Reviewed 13th March

Jester Butts Ale-Fabulous beer, Clear and great flavour.

Gourmet Country Pub Reviewed 27 February 2014

We only stopped by for drinks at the charming pub which has a scenic and peaceful outdoor seating area.

Tom Mayhew Reviewed 21st February 2014.

Butts Jester, Delicious!

LOVELY BED AND BREAKFAST PUB Reviewed 20th February 2014

I stayed over one night at the Swan Inn, Inkpen recently and was very happy with the overall experience. The staff was incredibly friendly, the rooms were nothing fancy but very clean and decent. A typical English countryside pub, nice ales and food. Very fairly priced for the quality and friendliness of the service. Looks like the owner of the place is always around so it was nice to have a chat with him as we'll. Very good value for money, highly recommend it.

Mr P Dibden CAMRA MEMBER Reviewed 19th February 2014.

Nice Pub, nice beer, good visit.

Ady Paddon Former CAMRA MEMBER Reviewed 17th February 2014.

Well kept beer and if my girlfriend didn't have a life and We didn't live 60 miles away, I could have stayed here all day drinking it!

R Williams Reviewed 14th February 2014.

A warm welcome and very tasty lunch.

Walking Group Lunch Reviewed 4th February 2014.

Our walking group of 12 had pre-booked and given our lunch orders prior to our walk. On our return we were promptly served our food and drinks. No complaints at all - friendly service, good food and clean toilets.

Sophi Houlten Reviewed 17 January 2014

Butts Traditional very smooth, really nice bitterness.

Wonderful Place :D Reviewed 15 January 2014

We visited there after a very long journey and had a lovely welcome. Wonderful place, great food especially the beef and onion pie and sausage and mash. Rooms were clean and comforting and I had a really good nights sleep and the breakfast was also very lovely. It made such a nice change from the normal corporate type hotel and would be my first choice when staying in the area again. Stayed October 2013, travelled on business

Brilliant pub, nice food, good atmosphere Reviewed 30th December 2013.

wonderful little country pub with atmosphere and full of real characters especially the local cow man Andy. food was great and their quiz nights are unsurpassed.worth dropping in if you are in the area.

Lunch With Family Reviewed 27th December 2013.

Very nice roast Sunday lunch at the Swan Inn. We have been customers since we moved to the area in 1979, but the Swan has improved vastly since the early days.In the summer on busy days you may need to find somewhere else to park. The pub is very popular and you need to book in advance. Our Sunday lunch was great, we all chose different meat, but none of us were disappointed. A good venue, the pub is smart and clean. The food good. Service with a smile.

“Try this old unspoiled pub” Reviewed 20th December 2013.

Well tucked away in the country but worth searching out, this very old pub retains its character and charm. Mine host is very welcoming and happy to chat with his customers. He owns the organic beef farm next door. Try his beef sandwiches - delicious with horseradish sauce.

Alan Crisp Reviewed 17th December 2013

Wonderful beer and atmosphere.

GREAT PUB, GOOD ALE Reviewed 16th December 2013

I stayed at the Swan for two months while working up the road at Ham. The Swan is a traditional pub which serves a good selection of real ales, I can highly recommend the Jester a proper pint of bitter. The pub has an extensive menu of which I took full advantage,don't miss the beef and onion pie or the sausage and mash really good food. The rooms I stayed in were comfortable and clean. The staff at the Swan are very friendly and professional and made me feel really welcome.Hope to see you all again next year.

Peter Clark Reviewed 12 December 2013

My annual Pilgrimage to the UK would not be complete without a pint of Jester.

Characterful Inn with Warm Hospitality Reviewed 7th December 2013

I attended a conference at Newbury Racecourse and was seeking a pleasant country pub not too far away with good food - The Swan Inn in Inkpen fitted the bill nicely. I had a homemade ravioli dish from the Italian themed menu with some garlic bread - which was really quite good. Also had a nice local ale which complimented the food well. Got talking to the owner Bernard who is a obliging host with many years experience in the business - he showed me around the 'operation' - its quite a bit more than just a pub - at the back there is a hanging room where the meat is prepared - the meat itself comes from Bernard's own organic farm - no wonder it tasted so good! Would happily go back for a short break - the Swan Inn has rooms and is in the North Wessex Downs AONB with many walking / riding trails nearby - perhaps I'll see you next summer Bernard!

Les Darrington Reviewed 3rd December 2013

Butts Jester Good old Fashioned Bitter,Delecious.

Ian Christian- Butts Traditional- Excellent Reviewed 14th November 2013

A Pub with great traditional atmosphere

Gayle “Friendly and welcoming staff!”Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed at The Swan Inn, Inkpen in October 2013 and we all thoroughly enjoyed our stay even though it was only a business trip. All the staff were very friendly and attentive, keeping the kitchen open for us as we had a late return from our job. The food was lovely and not overly expensive. The surrounding area of The Swan Inn was absolutely magnificent, you could go walking for days and not ever get tired of it. We will be returning again one day, many thanks to The Swan Inn Team. Room Tip: Book in advance, if you can!

Maureen Taylor-(CAMRA MEMBER) Reviewed 8th November 2013

Good Beer, Food, Atmosphere and welcome

John Shotter-(CAMRA MEMBER) Reviewed 8th November 2013

Excellent Blackguard Porter. Friendly welcome, Nice fire, Menu etc…

Kevin 7th November 2013

Butts Traditional. The last half inch had a head that clung to the glass-fab flavour-Perfect tem

Chris (CAMRA MEMBER) 5th November 2013

Butts Jester. Great session beer with excellent flavour

Alan (CAMRA MEMBER) 2nd November 2013

Butts Jester. Delicious, wonderfully bitter start, smooth malty finish.

Gari 23rd October 2013

Butts Jester. A great draught organic beer.

David ( CAMRA MEMBER) 20th October 2013

Butts Traditional. A gloomy day brightened by a welcoming bright fire and as usual a first class beer at its best.

Fiona 19th October 2013

Butts Jester. Great. Wonderful, Friendly-Cheers!

Rich 19th October 2013

Butts Jester. Came for one, stayed for three and counting.

Derek 12 October 2013

quiet country atmosphere. Substantial breakfasts, good pub feel

Alan Reviewed 10th October 2013

Very good beer( Butts Traditional)

Dave 10th October 2013

Butts Traditional beer in good nick

Chris Reviewed 10th October 2013

Beer in good nick. Knowledgeable governor.

Mike Reviewed 26 September 2013

The staff at The Swan are friendly &efficient,&the rooms very clean and bright with a nice outlook.Breakfast was prompt and well cooked,altho' as a sausage fan,I thought these might have been a bit less 'economy style'especially in view of the Inn's organic credentials!But that's a small gripe,and the organic pink grapefruit made amends.£90 is not cheap for a single night,& we clocked up 3 nights,so with a meal on 1 night overall bill was £300 .But the area is exceptionally beautiful for walking & you could come&go as you please,so it was really an excellent break.After all,we've all been to cheap B/B & we've seen the dusty room&mouldy shower,,so I think The Swan is more than worthy of a 'very good'.I don't know if they put on offers out of season ,but we'd certainly stay again when we visit that part of Hants.

ChrisReviewed 21 September 2013

Charm

April 18 September 2013

Comfortable room and beds. Good location for walking. Good hot shower. Excellent breakfast, fresh pink grapefruit was a lovely surprise and coffee was superb would recommend to friends

Robert Reviewed 17th September 2013

Butts Jester- Very good quaffing beer.

Dave Reviewed 17th September 2013

Well worth the journey from London.(Butts Jester)

Nigel 15th September 2013

Butts a delicious ale with very subtle notes. Gentle on the pallet(CAMRA MEMBER)

David (from Wales)14th September 2013

Organic Jester Excellent!!

Meatloaf September 2013

Very nice pub, food absolute quality "best ribeye steak I've had awhile" Room ideal Coudn't fault the stay at all.

Nick 4th September 2013

Butts Traditional most enjoyable but I usually drink cider!!

Daphne 3rd September 2013

Clean quiet bedroom, comfortable beds, well-presented ensuite shower room. Friendly helpful staff. Very good locally-sourced food. Good choice and quantity at breakfast.

“Clean, comfortable and good food” Reviewd 1st September 2013

We had read mixed reviews of this hotel but because of the lovely location and its commitment to good beer and locally sourced food we took the most positive view. I can see why people might comment adversely on the décor but really we could not fault the cleanliness, comfort, quality of service or the food on offer. I thoroughly recommend the beef ravioli (and my husband thought his ribeye steak was pretty good). The bar chat was friendly (and the beer good, even thought the cellar was apparently playing up).

“Difficult to Find - But Worth It” Reviewed 6 August 2013

5 of 5 starsTo get to The Swan Inn you have to go down a few single track roads to the small village of Inkpen. Once there you will find an old country pub that has rooms with character. I found it a wonderful place to stay - charming, olde world with friendly staff who can't do enough for you, and very friendly locals (especially Comrade Andy). There is very little traffic noise due to there being litttle passing traffic. Breakfast is freshly prepared to order (as are all the meals) using local (organic) ingredients - generally from the attached farm. This is an establishment that is very much into local produce from the food to the locally brewed ale, but they also have established name drinks for those that want them. I couldn't fault the place, I'll definitely stay there when I'm down that way again.

Ann 30 July 2013

The staff were lovely as was the food

“Lovely country pub full of character.” Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very friendly traditional country pub atmosphere with locals chatting to staff. I wish I'd had more time to explore the surrounding countryside but it was a welcoming place to come back to after a busy day at a conference. Staff were extremely helpful and I will definitely return next time I'm working in Newbury.

Malcolm 25 July 2013

Good room and breakfast

“Lovely terrace on a hot day :)” Reviewed 14 July 2013

3 of 5 starsThe staff were lovely and very friendly and helpful. The terrace outside was lovely in the sunshine

“Really good food” Reviewed 13 July 2013

I had dinner here tonight on balmy summers night and took my very elderly father. Food was excellent and the staff were extremely friendly. This is lovely country pub and I will definately be back very soon.

“Such a great pub.” Reviewed 8 July 2013

5 of 5 starsMy wife and I decided to head out for lunch so we headed for the White Swan at Inkpen. It was a beautiful day so we sat outside having ordered at the bar. The bar man was very helpful and very polite. The lunch was brilliant so was the service. The bar staff liked my car! We shall be back. A brilliant pub and a lovely setting.

“Perfect pub for our wedding” Reviewed 2 July 2013 NEW

We got married at the nearby combe manor. We hired tevery room in the pub all weekend and spent a lot of time there friday, saturday, sunday.... and it was exactly what we wanted. Cracking, charismatic boozer, with excellent staff who are so accomodating and understanding. They went way beyond the call of duty to cater for a huge amount of people and make it such a welcoming environment. Lovely homemade food.and local, tasty organic ale. Darts board too. Can't speak highly enough of this place!

chill out June 2013

just wanted 2 days away from city life ,pleasantly surprised by this Inn, no bad things to say.

Peter Jordan 29th June 2013

We were planning a light lunch before a walk on the downs. Rather disappointed by the menu and that there were no sandwiches on a Sunday. Lovely chips and olives though and the Spanish couple who were staffing the pub were very friendly and polite. Super location.

“A nice pub/restaurant we stumbled across” Reviewed 28 June 2013

We were doing a 7.5 mile walk in and around this beautiful village and just came across this very nice pub where we stopped for lunch we had a lovely conversation with the owner who told us something about the history of the area which helped us on our way. The food was lovely and nicely presented. It would have been a lovely place to stay but we had only gone for the day! We would recommend this pub as a place to stop for a beautiful lunch or dinner the menu looked very nice. Thank you.

Colin, 26 June 2013

A very friendly welcome and a friendly atmosphere helped to make our stay very relaxed and comfortable.

“Excellent place to stay!” Reviewed 16 June 2013

We stayed for one night whilst going through Hungerford. It was a great place to stay with really good food and excellent service from a really friendly group of people who work there. Highly recommended!

"great overnight accommodation"Reviewed 13 June

Stayed overnight at this lovely country inn and it was very nice, rooms were very clean and the food was top notch.The staff are so friendly,breakfast was excellent l would stay here again and would recommend it to everyone

DD, 12 June 2013

Beautiful pub in the middle of farmland. Inside has less frills however the focus is clearly on the food which was great and came in huge portions. Staff were very friendly and accomodated smaller portions for the kids. All in all a lovely Sunday lunch

Elizabeth, 10 June 2013

Everything was great. Helped me upstairs with my bag.Plenty of parking. Breakfast time adjustable and plentiful. Bed comfortable,quiet, pleasant view of countryside.

Anon.10th June 2013

We had an enjoyable evening at the Ink Pen, the food was excellent and everyone enjoying the meals options and their selections. There is a new chef there who tried his hardest to spoil us with taster dishes and provide recommendations on our food preferences. It appears that they are trying very hard to get new business and I would say its certainly worth a try if you're looking for somewhere different from the norm.

Good as always! Reviewed June 2013

Each time I stay at the Swan I thoroughly enjoy the unique blend of rural character and international service.

Angela Reviewed10 June 2013

The room was comfortable and had all the essential facilities, good for the price we paid. Breakfast was excellent - delicious, organic food cooked perfectly. Bar had a good selection of ales, which my husband appreciated, and a little farm shop attached to the pub sold local ales and organic produce. It was easy to let ourselves in when we arrived home late at night.

A Dixon Reviewed 6th June

Cheddar Mild lovely smooth drink

V Long Reviewed 6th June

Butts Very good

“Lazy sunday afternoon” Reviewed 2 June 2013

After a Ramblers Walk round Inkpen this morning.I went to The Swan for some lunch. The staff were so friendly,that I spend the rest of the afternoon there.It was most enjoyable and very friendly.I had difficulties pulling myself away from there!I hope to visit again soon,Gerda Rattray from Thatcham.

MR Aspers Reviewed 30th May

Butts Traditional- yum yum

JH 28th May 2013

We had lunch at the Swan Inn on Sat. We ate in the pub side of the restaurant. It was a nice pub with good food. The Cygnet restaurant looked lovely. Think it's only open for evenings. Would go back to try it.

RC 25th May 2013

The Cygnet Restaurant, The Swan Inn, Inkpen, Nr Hungerford, Berks. Small, cosy, exposed beam barn, converted into a restaurant with log burning open fire, situated in a rural hamlet. Sadly we were the only diners. Tasty, well presented food. Friendly service, but only 1, very pleasnt, bar-man/waiter, who had obviously not been trained as a wine waiter - the bottle of wine was not offered for tasting, nor was it poured into our glasses. Never-the-less, he was a very courteous & attentive waiter.

“Perfect walk lunch stop-off” Reviewed 17 May 2013

I stopped in to the Swan Inn for lunch by recommendation with a group of 20 ramblers and it was great. After pre-ordering lunch in the morning the food was excellent and it all came out at the same time. The staff were friendly and helpful. Good food, good beer and good sloe gin. I would recommend.

“Canal walkers” Reviewed 7 May 2013

We have stayed in this delightful inn on two occasions whilst walking the Kennet and Avon Canal. It is well off the beaten track , quiet , and restful. The bar is homely , full of character and characters ! We ate in the restaurant and the food was very good. Breakfast is in a league of its own with organic bacon and eggs - its worth the stay to remind oneself what proper food tastes like !

Bob May 6th May 2013

Butts Jester-Morish!

“Gem of a place" Reviewed 5 May 2013

The Swan Inn is a real gem of a place, off the beaten track away from the hustle and bustle. In a beautiful setting, had drinks on the lovely sun terrace and were made to feel so very welcome by the staff and locals. The accommodation was homely, clean and comfortable. We ate in the restaurant, the food was superb, had all three courses which we could not fault. Cooked to perfection. Would stay again and recommend. Thank You. to perfection.

“lovely welcoming pub” Reviewed 5 May 2013

We spent a very comfortable night in this pub within picturesque countryside . Staff friendly and welcoming and we enjoyed a good quality bar meal at lunch time and an excellent breakfast , We were visiting Littlecote House Hotel nearby for an evening meal so it was very well situated for our taxi pick up .

Ian Gresham 5th May 2013

Butts Traditional. Nicely kept. Very drinkable bitter!

M. Foster 29 April 2013

Butts Jester. Very good taste.

Zac Wallis 28 April 2013

Cheddar Mild. For a “Mild” it packs a lot of flavour.

“Very pleasant pub lunch” Reviewed 8 April 2013

Called in to this charming rural pub following a visit to Highclere Castle. The barman was very chatty and my husband explained he liked to visit this pub because our surname is Inkpen and the pub is in the village of Inkpen! We ordered lunch from the menu which was served quickly and efficiently. I had the spaghetti bolognese and my husband steak and kidney pudding with potatoes and veg. Both meals were delicious. We sat by a roaring open fire which was very relaxing. We look forward to our next visit when we are in the vicinity.

David Hickman Reviewed 6 April 2013

A good fire, a warm welcome, a great pint, what more could you want?

Peter Ager Reviewed 3 April 2013

Very consistent pint, good colour, flavoursome, hoppy taste.

“just passing by” Reviewed 31 March 2013

came across this cosy inn whilst looking for a country walk. It was so warm and inviting on such a cold day, and the bar staff and regulars so friendly, entertaining and knowledgable that we spent some time sampling the lovely local brew and visiting the organic produce shop before embarking on one of many local walks nearby.Came back later for more convivial conversation, beer and puddings before setting of for Coombe Gibbet.Will definitely be back to try the food and maybe stay overnight. Bob and Denise from Poole.

HL10th March 2013

This was a perfect venue for Mother's Day - a lovely old country pub in a picture-perfect village with lovely walks along the canal nearby. The food didn't disappoint either: especially anything involving their own beef. The service was a little slow, but we would expect that on Mother's Day when every table was taken, and the waitresses kept apologising (slightly unneccessarily!). I will definitely eat there again, and visit their adjoining farm shop.

“Almost excellent” Reviewed 7 February 2013 NEW

The service(Spanish) was first class and the room had everything for the price.

Peter Pike 27/01/2013

Very well kept beer.

David Hickman.26/01/2013

Good Beer in front of a lovely fire.

“The best pub food in this part of the world.” Reviewed 20 January 2013

Love the Swan in every way and do not understand why it is not more popular among local residents. The service I have always found to be wonderful and my favourite homemade pate and organic steaks invariably beyond compare. Well-priced for what it is and never ever over-busy in my experience since going there a few months ago.

Mr R.Hunt 19 January 2013

An excellent winter pint(Butts Blackguard)

Mr Bidwell 18 January 2013

Excellent ale,(Butts Jester)

Vince 18 January 2013

Well Kept beer, Friendly atmosphere

Peter 21December 2012

Excellent Food & Real Beer Staff service excellent, Sorry I was only staying for one night.

JJStanners 18 Dec 2012 09:14

Great place for a good pint after a walk around the surrounding areas, nice welcome and good no nonsense pub grub, would recommend.

“Good Food, Great Real Ale, Friendly People.” Reviewed 1 November 2012

I stayed over night while working locally. After a hard day's work the brilliant food, punching well above it's weight really hit the spot. This was restaurant standard food in a pub. A very rare commodity these days. I had swordfish which was cooked to perfection; often can be overcooked and dry but not here. There is a decent choice of lager and bitter. The locally brewed real ale on draft was stored well and tasted great. Another business man who was staying grumbled that there was no Sky Sport but I was very glad because I got to talk to the owner, his wife, and a local chap all of whom were very friendly. …..

John R

Great Beer and Great Food. October 2012

Kenneth 22 October 2012

The staff were warm and friendly.

Keith: 22 October 2012

I arrived early [the pub is closed in the afternoon] and the 'farmer' delivering logs for the fire let me in and showed me to my room. That set the scene for a very sociable evening later! The owners, staff, locals and visitors were all friendly and it was a very pleasant stay.

“quiz night at the swan” Reviewed 24 October 2012

We selected The Swan for the first night of a two week trip to England's Southwest primarily because of its convenience to Heathrow, as well as on the basis of a positive review in The Good Pub Guide. It did not disappoint. The managers, Mary and Bernard, were most welcoming, the ale selection was excellent, likewise the food. Best of all, we chanced to come in on Quiz Night and despite jet lag managed to give a decent account of ourselves until getting to the category of British sportsmen. Thanks to a zero score in that round, we came in last among the ten or so teams. But we had a terrific time talking and joking with the locals--one of our favorite pub evenings ever (and there have been many). Don't miss the home-cured bresaola prepared by Vicenzo, the chef from Catania.

Overnight Stop Revieved 18th October

Comfortable, snug, no complaints !

“Sunday” Revieved 15th October 2012

Beautiful countryside and a lovely morning walk led us to the Swan, I'd been here many moons ago on a long distance walk and found the beer excellent and it didn't disappoint this time, v nice Butts Jesters and Traditional. We ate in the restaurant section which was a little chilly despite three open fires in the pub though the waiter did offer to bring us a heater (so our own British "don't complain" faults I suppose). I had the swordfish steak which was excellent in its tomato and pepper sauce, my companions all went for the organic beef roast which was plentiful.

“Food way ahead of the ambiance” Reviewed 12 October 2012

It's hard to believe that such a broad menu can be supported by the kitchen of a somewhat 'off the beaten track' pub. But it is more than supported because the kitchen excelled in each of the broad range of dishes our party of four selected. From the home made bresaola and prize winning sausage, to the Greek salad and outstanding feta cheese, to the lasagna; each dish was of the finest ingredients, cooked to perfection and presented with flair. The staff were welcoming and helpful, but the decor was tired and the ambiance belied and detracted from the food experience. A pity because, at modest cost, The Swan Inn could present the epitome of an English pub.

Peter 9th October 2012 Very friendly staff with good food.

“Great Country Pub for light lunch and cask ales” Reviewed 1 October 2012

We stopped in to the pub on a Saturday for a light lunch and pints during a country walk. It was a nice day so we were able to take advantage of the outdoor seating. We had soup and the organic beef burger; both were of high quality and tasty. The local cask ales, Butts Traditional and Butts Jester (lighter ABV) were both good - next time we'd both opt for the Jester as it held its own in terms of taste. Service was great, but it was early in the day with few patrons at the time and so cannot comment on how things might go at busier times. Definitely goes on our list for a stop if we are in the area again.

“Nice... Very nice” Reviewed 1 October 2012

Took the family in for a Sunday lunch, and was impressed by such an extensive menu. Had planned and expected a Sunday roast, yes it was there and so were so many other choices. I therefore changed my mind and enjoyed a really nice lasagna. The food was fresh and good in this wonderful village pub

Miriam 29 September 2012

The peaceful location, the well equipped and comfortable accommodation and the friendly staff.

Norman 28th Sept 2012

Liked all aspects of my booking and stay. Liked most the friendly, helpful and welcoming approach of all those I met at he Swan, Difficult to find. I was not aware of country location. All but the l st the "natives" i asked for directions sent me to the Three Swans, where the receptionist printed a Google map which brought me to you. Hope to visit you again on my next visit to the UK.

Julia 28 September 2012

A friendly welcome from the barman upon arrival and attentive to our needs without being intrusive, as friends gathered for the weekend. Delicious plum chutney with ploughman's for lunch was a good start for our afternoon walk. The bedrooms were clean with comfortable beds and it looked like there were new carpets throughout the upstairs. The location is perfect for walkers with beautiful countryside all around.

“A fantastic little pub” Reviewed 25 September 2012

I stayed here for a week recently while working in the area. From the very start I received a warm welcome and was made feel at home. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Also the locals who drink at the bar were very bubbly and chatty and I had a good laugh with them during my stay. My room was pretty comfortable and was what you would expect from a modern hotel. Breakfast was lovely and I left every morning stuffed!! One morning the chef prepared sandwiches for me because I had to leave earlier than breakfast time..Not many places would do that for you. Regarding the evening meals, I had a meal there 2 evenings and I have to say it was lovely. My only criticism was that it was a little overpriced,,but seeing as it is organic food, maybe it deserves that extra couple of pound. All in all, a fantastic place to stay

Josephine 18 September 2012

Old style public house with good selection of beers and lovely breakfast

“Fab lunch!” Reviewed 4 September 2012

We found the The Swan Inn by accident, following the brown tourist signs once through Hungerford, towards Inkpen and were really pleased we did. As a family that eat out regularly, we have high expectations and these are quite often not met. The Swan Inn did not disappoint; very friendly service from the staff, excellent extensive menu and when it arrived (promptly and hot) the portion sizes were generous and freshly cooked. My husband had the (now infamously reviewed on this website!) seafood risotto which he thought was delicious, and the other meals we had were equally as good. We declined dessert (too full!) but were pleased to read that they were homemade which is rare these days; the table next to us ordered summer pudding which looked fab and they seemed to be enjoying it! We will gladly visit again, this time on purpose.

“Great food Reviewed 21 August 2012

We decided to escape the heatwave in London and head for the countryside. My hubbie booked this last minute on booking.com and upgraded to a 'superior room' for an extra £5. He warned me that, having looked at the website, it wouldn't be 'luxury' but it would be comfortable and, hopefully, cooler than in London. He was right. Inkpen is a small village in the countryside and parts of the pub are ancient with old timbers in the restaurant area. The staff are friendly but it's busy and sometimes there isn't time to chat. The barman showed us our room. There's local meat which was highly recommended by other reviewers and my hubbie had fillet steak which he really enjoyed.

Gail Hicken, Birmingham Reviewed 21 August 2012

Enjoyed a lovely weekend, food was fantastic and the location was ideal for a trip to Highclere castle. Staff were very friendly and welcoming, in a peaceful location

Thierry FOURNIER Reviewed 17 August 2012

better than we expected, pleasant staff, good food and the chef even came to speak to us, rooms very comfortable and ideal situation. Only a small remark from a lady: a small box of tissues in the room would have been appreciated . Perfect break for us and our friends

“country pub” Reviewed 13 August 2012

Lovely countryside , real old fashioned rural pub . Long may these sort of places survive with very friendly helpful staff and locals. The only suggestion I have is advertise yourselves for what you are , a real friendly cosy independant country inn.

“Hidden Gem in West Berkshire”

4 of 5 starsReviewed 27 July 2012

The Swan, Inkpen 5th-14th July, 2012 Off the beaten track, this old inn is well worth seeking out, whether for a few nights stay in one of their comfortable, country-shabby rooms, enjoying a delicious meal of mainly organic and locally sourced produce, or simply an evening in the bar, sampling local real ale and the friendly and entertaining banter. I was much impressed by the quality of service.

Ron stayed 14th July

Great welcome brilliant breakfast.

Charming Place to Stay 11th July

The Inn had a an old world charm, the staff were very friendly and helpful. We had an evening meal and breakfast, both meals were excellent. The owners and locals made us feel so welcome, they were so open and chatty and warm. I would wholeheartedly recommend The Swan Inn as a place to stay if you want good food, a nice comfy bed and good conversation.

Great Stay 10th July

We went to Inkpen for a family wedding, we were very happy with our stay, the room was lovely, not too small, the bed was comfortable, decent coffee, the staff were very nice and helpful. The best thing for us was the excellent breakfast, tasty bacon, delicious mushrooms and the eggs cooked just right, We would recommend!!

Graham stayed 9th July

Very friendly owners and barman - great sense of humour. Had one of the finest steaks ever here - enjoyed it so much I bought more from the farm shop to take home with me. I would stay here again.

Group of friends 28th June 2012

Beautiful peaceful location

Solo Traveler 25th June

Lovely people

Mr. Erling 21st June 2012

Rigtig godt til prisen – Google translation from Danish “Excellent for the price”

“A fantastic welcome” 22nd June

I have never been made to feel so welcome in a hotel before. Superb ales, great food and fantastic company. I slept like a baby! Fantastic breakfast with a good choice. Will stay again. Off the beaten track, and well worth it. Some of the regulars are great characters and

good ambassadors also! Thank you so much guys.

Robyn stayed 21st June

Enchanting host. Very good steak and excellent poached salmon

“An evening with Reggie Crayfish” Reviewed 19 June 2012

Reggie the Crayfish wasn't on the menu, but had his back to us all evening just in case. Called in for an evening meal, but were unlucky to be a day late for the Steak and Kidney suet pudding. We had the Ravioli and Chicken Liver Pate to start and Chilli-con-Carne and the Lasagne as mains, all of which were great and made with local ingredients. Too full for pudding!

“An excellent pub!” 14 June 2012

We often walk here from the next village, for a meal and a pint. It's always comfortable and welcoming, whether sitting inside or out the front. The staff are friendly and service is good. The new menu is superb, with the mixture of italian and local organic beef dishes (love the lasagne), we have not been disappointed. There is a good range of organic ales from the local Butts brewery, they are all worth trying. The farm shop is worth a visit, selling meats and ready made meals, so remember to bring a coolbag.

Simon Coulsdon, Surrey 29th May 2012

Enjoyed our stay at the Swan Inn. Their steak was some of the best I've tasted. Didn't get a chance to browse the farm shop attached to the pub, but I would recommend it based on their steaks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a circular walk over Inkpen Hill on Saturday and then explored Hungerford and Avebury on Sunday. The Swan is worth a visit if you want to explore the area.

"Great people" reviewed 25th May 2012 (Google Translate from Original Japanese)

When I got to know a friend of England, came to the UK hotel is sure to stay. Our place is very cozy and the staff greeted us with such owner and his wife always welcome back. Enjoy a meal at the pub restaurant on the first floor the history of the 400-year-old can be felt, in Japan in the guesthouse, such as stretchable wings around you can not, all handmade food good night's sleep bed from the window of the room is also great views, I think no doubt be satisfied also high hospitality.

“Stopped of for a drink, wish we'd stayed here...” Reviewed 18th May 2012

Lovely welcoming staff, very friendly. Food was really good, not too badly overpriced. Nice to sit in the sun and have a burger and a pint. The inside of the pub was really cosy and welcoming, though it was a lovely hot sunny day and was empty inside. Strange thing was though they had a call from the Landlord whilst I was being served telling them to light the fires!!!! Very odd, as was a lovely hot weekend.. Would recommend this pub for it's location and friendly staff.

“Just brilliant and friendly” Reviewed 17th May 2012

Good food, extremely friendly staff, very good beer, lovely rooms, beautiful countryside.

“Best beef we ever had!!” Reviewed 16th May 2012

We went couple of time with my partner to this pub and were always highly satified. They organic beef is absolutly the best we ever tried and always cooked at perfection. They were able to do a perfect rare steak to please a French person, not so easy ; ) We tried the seafood risotto last time suggested by Tom, the manager and haven't been disapointed to listen to his advise. That dish was simply delicious. The staff are very friendly and always trying to help you Will go again for sure

“STUNNING DECOR” Reviewed 13 May 2012

Good all rounder with lots of different function rooms all with their own look and feel. Decor is excellent and well presented / thought out. Room had a good bed and we have a view of the river which was very peacefull. Went for a wedding and the reception was held there, great night and well looked after.. I am sure it's good if your going walking / biking around the local area as, although that was not the reason we were there, we saw plenty of people off for a ramble etc.

Terry Telford, Shropshire, United Kingdom, 2 May 2012

We found the staff very helpful, some local characters in the bar area where colourful we had quite diverse conversations. The food was really good cooked by an Italian Chef, his Risotto was to dye for. It was a very enjoyable experience. We will visit again, and bring friends as well.

The swan inn inkpen near Hungerford 24th April 2012

A very friendly place to stay,the rooms are very clean & tidy & comfortable the range of food was excellent & the staff&owners were very friendly. would certainly stay again if in that area

Dave Reading, United Kingdom 18 April 2012

This was a brilliant weekend. The room was large and comfortable and very quiet, with minimal light pollution which spoils so many rooms. The food was fine, but filling - the scallops starter was probably enough by itself, but not to be missed. Staff were efficient, friendly and helpful, as were the customers when I lost my earring. It was charming, relaxing and a little eclectic. In a lovely location to allow excellent walking. The beer was also very good. Difficult to top.

“An Enjoyable Few Days” Reviewed 17 April 2012

My partner and I picked 'The Swan Inn' from the Camra's 'Good Beer Guide'/'Beer, Bed and Breakfast'. We were not disappointed! A lovely inn, parts of which were 17th Century, set in the quietness of the country surrounded by pheasants, sheep etc. The pub has an organic food shop on site and all the meals in the pub are sourced from organic produce and meat. We stayed for 3 nights and all our meals were plentiful and delicious, both breakfast and evening meals. The staff were friendly and extremely helpful in many ways, even the locals were very friendly and welcoming. Our room was very comfortable and decor and furnishings were smart. We both thoroughly enjoyed our stay there and would go back again especially for the real ale!!

“Quite a find” Reviewed 15 April 2012

My wife and I were out for the day driving around the very attractive countryside of the Newbury area when we happened upon this gem about lunchtime. The food was first class and served quickly to our table on the terrace by a friendly Spanish lad (no, not from Barcelona!) accompanied by an excellent pint of real ale from a local brewery. How nice to find an establishment that retains a real pub interior (that does not smell of cooking oil) with a friendly atmosphere - a rarity nowadays - instead of a restaurant that happens to serve beer. The balance between traditional pub and the necessary hotel/restaurant business is perfectly achieved - not an easy trick to pull off. A visit to the attached farm shop rounded off our brief visit. We shall definitely be back!

An Easter break

Reviewed by Lawrence Rhodes From Bexhill on Sea, England stayed on 8th April The food was lovely. There were few residents over the Saturday and Sunday, but the care taken with the meal for us was great. The food is pricey compared with pub fodder, but the restaurant is really well appointed and comfortable and just needs a few more people to make it lively. The beef in Beer was tender, well sauced and well presented. Because The Swan is off the beaten track ( it is difficult to find, but worth it) it is not a place for passers-by. But I have never seen such a wealth of open-access footpaths nearby, and we met in our brief stay some worthy and friendly local people.It was easy to get to Avebury where we had a great day out. The two young men who manage the bar and restaurant were very polite, cheerful, welcoming and helpful, and dealt with quiet and busier times very professionally. The Inn is also an integral part of the organic farm, and we loved Andy, a great guy who handles the cows and the occasional bull (229), as well as a JCB- all the best Andyl! It was great to meet the owners on our first night. We wish them all well and hope they get the business they deserve for their effort. Maybe an extra mini bottle of shower gel for stayers of more than one night? The full English breakfast keeps you going all day! Fond farewell!!

“quiet, comfy, warm, fantastic”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 21 March 2012

hi, id just like start with telling you that i work away every week and stay in 2 or 3 different hotels a week, i stayed here last night and it was a very nice clean room with comfortable warm double bed and full freeview on the flatscreen t.v. its located in a very attractive village and is very very quiet!!! me and my work colleague had a few beers at the bar and i tried some of the in house brewed guest ales, we ordered dinner which was delightful! we met the chef and were made very welcome by the locals, we sat at the bar until closing time and made a couple of new friends in the bar tender Jon and the local farmer andy who gave us a full tour of the pub, shop and butchers. We were up early and going to miss breakfast so they made us sandwiches to take the next day.. great!!!!!!! all in all a lovely place to spend the night. I would definately stay again. thanks.

Very friendly and excellent service

United Kingdom 12 March 2012

Atmosphere and made us to feel extremely welcome.

“Organic roast beef and real ale”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 20 February 2012

I targeted the Swan Inn for lunch on Time Out's recommendation and I wasn't disappointed. First impression was literally a warm welcome: with an open fire and some friendly chat with the staff and other punters. This was followed by a tasty ale, apparently brewed nearby by a "one man band". The barman had no trouble persuading me to go for the roast, especially when he explained that the organic beef was reared and hung by the landlord farmer. The meat was something special, and worth traveling a distance for. The meal arrived amazingly quickly and was piping hot. All round good bet, especially for beef and ale lovers.

“Gibbet Walk - car park and food at the Swan Inn”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 16 February 2012

We parked our car at the Swan Inn, Inkpen at 09.40 and set off for the seven mile walk which includes the steep scarp of Inkpen hill and lovely farmland and woods. The walk took us 3 hours and when we arrived back at the Swan Inn we were ready for our meal. The landlord Bernard was most accommodating with the car parking and the welcome he gave us when we arrived back from the walk. Our lunch was home cooked, wholesome food and was served quickly. Last orders was 13.30 for food. We shall do this walk again, and base it again from the pub rather than the car park suggested on the various websites. This means the steep hill is encountered quite early in the walk, rather than the last couple of miles.

“Warm welcome in Inkpen” 4 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 February 2012

We stopped off at the Swan for a much needed lunch and some shelter from a very cold day's walking around beautiful Inkpen. The staff were very friendly and the food delicious! Just right to power us up to Combe Gibbet in the afternoon in the snow!

“Lunchtime beer and soup.” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 February 2012

My wife and I stopped here for a light lunch and a pint. We received a great welcome from the landlord, the excellent beer was locally brewed and we each enjoyed a lovely, wholesome and hot bowl of soup, just the thing for a cold winter's day. The hospitality that we received and the quality of the food makes us believe that it would be a splendid place to stay.

“Paul” 30th January 2012 Friendly staff and good food.

“A really cozy pub with good food.” 4 of 5 starsReviewed 22nd January 2012

The pub had a really friendly atmosphere with a great menu selection and good service.

“A quick pint in the warm turned into very fun afternoon”

5 of 5 starsReviewed 25 January 2012 We had a few hours to spare between the Christmas market at Highclere Castle and our dinner reservation so were driving around looking for a pub to have a quiet drink and shelter from the elements. We stumbled across The Swan Inn and were welcomed inside by Bernard and Andy. We sat next to the open log fire for the next few hours to thaw out with a drink and engaged in highly entertaining and enjoyable conversation with both of these kinds, humorous and pleasant characters. It was a great shame we had to leave so soon and next time we are in the area we will most definitely book dinner and maybe a room at The Swan Inn. Darran & Hannah

“Interesting Italian food in a friendly, comfortable space.”

4 of 5 stars Reviewed 19 January 2012

A long established restaurant that now serves good quality authentic Italian food in a contemporary environment. Off street parking, comfortable bar area and a hotel.

”Family Friendly” 2nd January 2012

An excellent and friendly welcome coupled with a sincere interest in our well-being.

“Good Village Pub for Food and Accommodation”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 10 January 2012

I have had many dinners here over the years and one or two lunches and consider the food outstanding for a village pub not easily found. As well as English pub favorites it has now moved from Middle Eastern specialties to Italian food under different chefs but the high standard remains. The atmosphere is very calming and a good range of beers are on offer. It offers organic food which might be a particular attraction for some and boasts a number of awards. I have also spent one or two nights in the en-suite rooms upstairs which follow the same high standard. I fully recommend this place. I wish a similar standard pub was near my home which is some distance away.

“Wonderful Pub, Great Location and Friendly Staff” 5 of 5 stars 19 December 2011

I recently organized a staff Christmas Lunch here for over 30 people - Tomas the manager was very helpful and efficient in the pre-event arrangements and all the staff were very helpful, friendly and accommodating on the day. The food was traditional Xmas Faire as was ordered and the quality of food for such a large party was very good. This is a beautiful pub in a wonderful location and I shall personally return some stage soon to taste the Organic Beef which comes highly recommended. Well worth a visit.

“The antidote to 'plastic' hotels” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 12 December 2011

My second stop at this fabulous country inn and certainly not my last. The ambience on this visit on a cold winter night was perfect with the warming fire in the bar. Great real ales from the local brewery and home-cooked organic food. Very friendly hosts and staff. I can recommend the kippers at breakfast!

“Excellent Real Ale Pub” Reviewed 10th Nov 2011

The beer I had here earlier this week was excellent (Butts Jester) perfectly served and friendly knowledgeable landlord. 10 out of 10 on pub itself and beer (also reasonable price beer compared to some). No comment re food as we didn't eat. Great for walkers and real ale drinkers.

“Excellent food”5 of 5 starsReviewed 30th October 2011

A really cozy pub - great for a cold winter's evening. We didn't stay here as we live locally, but had an excellent meal in the restaurant. Their beef is organic, home reared and butchered. My son said it was the best fillet steak he had ever tasted! We shall certainly eat there again.

“Walking Cycling Friendly Pub” Reviewed 24th October 2011

Have been going to this pub on and off for a number of years and it is always a 'safe pair of hands'. Spent a very pleasant Saturday lunchtime/afternoon here last week as part of a walking group of 14 which descended on the pub without notice. They nevertheless accommodated us all for lunch with no bother. Butts Jester and Traditional were enjoyed by us all (except for the designated drivers of course). Definitely recommended.

“Lovely Service :)”5 of 5 stars Reviewed 26th October 2011

The service at The Swan Inn was second to none. The staff were friendly, welcoming and went out of their way to make our stay a comfortable one. We visited on one of the coldest nights this year, but once we told the staff that our room was a little cold, they were knocking on the door with an extra heater within minutes! The only slight problem with our large room was the size of the telly and the distance it was from the bed...we couldn't read the words on the quiz we were watching, but the room itself made up for this and we didn't watch much telly anyway :) Also, the food was fantastic.....yum yum!! Thank you for making our stay a special one :)) Mandy and Mike

Great Country Pub with Accommodation Stayed 23rd October 2011

The room was excellent. The staff was very helpful without being over attentive and the Good and beer were really good.

“Wonderful country inn” Reviewed 15th October 2011

A wonderful pub in a great out-of-the-way location. Very nice, spacious room with good facilities. Very friendly and helpful staff. A nice walk available with info for starting and finishing at the inn. (Could use info on other walks in the area.) Local patrons at the pub were few but quietly friendly. The chef was away so didn't have dinner but breakfast was good. Would like to stay there again. Because can't really comment on the food only giving 4 'stars'.

“Fantastic place to stay” Reviewed 14th October 2011

The quality of food in the swan inn was absolutely fantastic, would definitely stay there again.

“Very nice Country Inn” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 7th October 2011

This was an emergency overnight stay - and we were very lucky to choose The Swan - excellent dinner (all organic and local) good choice of beers and wines, and a comfortable, spacious room. A bit out of the way, but definitely worth a detour

“Fantastic Pub”5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1st October 2011

I traveled from Somerset to Inkpen very often and I always find time to go in the swan, the locals are friendly and welcoming, as are the staff, the food is good quality, they also have some brilliant quiz nights every other Thursday,. I cant fault the place. roll on my next visit.

“Great meal good atmosphere” Reviewed 5 of 5 stars1st October 2011

We have visited a few times. The food is always excellent and the beef is fantastic from their own cows!!! The staff was very attentive and made us feel welcome. Never stayed overnight so cannot comment on the rooms. A little gem of a pub, almost did not want to write a review so I can keep the place to myself.

Traditional English Pub Reviewed 31st August 2011

The Swan Inn is a traditional English pub set in a residential road surrounded by some beautiful countryside. The room was clean and comfortable. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room which is good. The breakfast room was small but the breakfast was very nice. The waiter couldn't speak good English and it was a challenge to communicate your order but he was doing his best.

"Organic beef products - unbeatable" Reviewed 26th of August 2011

This note concerns only the food products available to purchase from the Pub (and the great beer on tap). The Swan has an organic beef herd local to the village. They process the meat them selves. A variety of cuts are available from the shop adjoining the Pub, as well as sausages and pies. All products are frozen. I have never come across a better source of food in this category. The beef is excellent. The pies and sausages are brilliant. The prices are great value. The Swan always seems to have beer from the Butts brewery on tap. This brewery is based near Great Shefford (about 8 miles away). It really is good beer, no matter which one you choose. We haven't eaten in the restaurant (since the new Chef arrived), or stayed over-night, so can't comment on that aspect of their business. However, Tomas, the manager, is always friendly and helpful when we go to shop for beef.

“Brilliant overnight stay” 5 of 5 starsReviewed 17th of August 2011

Extremely good value overnight accommodation with friendly staff. The organic breakfast was superb and tastier than lots of 4 or 5 star hotels provide.

Sally London, 17th August

Very friendly staff. Excellent food. Lovely Location and a proper pub

Terry & Shirley Milton Keynes United Kingdom 15th August 2011

Thanks to basil Sybil and Manuel for a memorable stay. Shirley and terry

Mr and Mrs George, Tidworth 05 August 2011

My wife and I took a stab in the dark and booked a table at this beautiful rural cottage. The staff were very welcoming friendly and attentive. I had the home made sausages, and my wife the burger which were both fantastic, and not over priced either. We would definately reccommend the Swan to anybody who enjoys good food and we will certainly be revisiting to sample something else from their tasty menu.

Quiet Friendly Bolt Hole

Reviewed by Patricia Banks from Lincoln, England who stayed in 28th of July Excellent organic breakfast which surpassed many 4 and 5 star hotel standards. Staff very friendly particularly Tomas the bar manager. Very good value and we would certainly book again if we are touring in the area.

“SWAN INN (TOP NOTCH PLACE)” 5 of 5 stars Reviewed 11th July 2011

Margaret and Paul stayed at the Swan Inn for 2 nights, 8th and 9th July, Room number 7. Lovely room, great staff, Tomas very busy guy but always ready to chat to you. Thanks Tomas for the breakfast Sat morning, served to us smiley face on a plate. Nadine, this is for you - all the best with your studies - you'll be missed that's for sure. Luv always xxxxxxx

Couple Stayed 9th July 2011

The young man who received us in and dealt with us throughout our stay was really lovely, very nice and friendly given his workload.

Janet London, United Kingdom 6th July 2011

The staffs were warm and welcoming. The food was excellent. Lovely location.

"Interesting" locals. Very clean. Surprised it wasn't busier. Guess because it is out of

the way and not something you would come across while driving?

Stan

Greeba, Isle of Man 21st June 2011

The welcome we received and the flexibility and helpfulness from the staff enhanced our

stay considerably. There was a smell of food permeating throughout the Inn, but the food

was worth it.

12 hours at The Swan Inn!

Carole Kinross Chi Chester, England, June 2011

A very warm welcome, excellent clean and comfortable room. Good Food.

Martin

Newport, United Kingdom 5th June 2011

nice location friendly staff clean and comfortable rooms.

Simon

Portland, United Kingdom 1st June 2011

Never had better roast beef than in the Sunday roast (organic beef), very friendly staff,

everywhere was nice and clean and the location was fantastic.

“Thank you for all your help!”

5 of 5 stars Reviewed 31st May 2011

We stayed at The Swan Inn for 2 nights on the last bank holiday weekend in May 2011 as we were at a wedding in the area. I contacted them via email before we arrived as we have a 6 month old baby and wanted to check a few things relating to the rooms and facilities for washing and sterilizing bottles. Tomas, the bar manager, could not have been more helpful. He responded promptly and reassured me there was no need to worry that we could use whatever facilities we wanted. On the Saturday morning I was allowed full access to the kitchen to use their sink and microwave. The staff were very friendly and went out of their way to help us and ensure we had a good time. We were also very impressed with the food. 11 of us had dinner there on the Friday night and they really looked after us well. The bride and groom stayed there the night of the wedding and also loved the breakfast the next morning. The room was clean, well equipped and a good size

“Great stay.”5 of 5 stars 24 May 2011

It was a fantastic stay. The food was very well prepared and good value for money. And the staff where very friendly! The room had a very good view and I would recommend The Swan to anyone who enjoys good food, good company and good living quarters.

“Will Return” 4 of 5 stars

Date of review: 23 May 2011

four of us enjoyed ourselves... it was Quiz night and we were warned of the noise before booking but we decided it would only make it more fun but we heard nothing from the restaurant area. The service was good,quick and friendly in the restaurant and bar. The food was good and wholesome ... one of my party was delighted to have the oxtail. Puddings were well presented ... Ladies please note... finally I am writing this several weeks after the visit and remember my experience well.. hope to be back again soon.

We have eaten at the swan twice now May 19, 2011

Both times were good. The food is home made, tasty and healthy. Well worth the trip off the beaten track! Liked: Food, Service, Atmosphere, Value

“Fabulous lunch, warm welcome and lovely location” 5 of 5 stars

Date of review: 19 May 2011 Thank you for a fabulous lunch last Sunday. It was great to be offered a full menu and not just roast dinners! The food was all delicious especially the scallops. My parents are often hard to please and they raved about their meal so thank you. It is not easy to find the place via Kintbury but the direct road from Hungerford Common is much easier (and wider !) We were surprised not to find the place packed out but it suited us as we wanted a quiet place to chat and having the inglenook area just beside the restaurant entrance with a real fire to keep my mum warm was a bonus. We were all so busy trying fish dishes we didn't get a chance to put the home reared meat through its paces so will be back soon to check it out. Thanks again for a lovely meal.

“Great atmosphere, top notch food”

4 of 5 starsDate of review: 19 May 2011

My partner and I came for lunch here enroute elsewhere and we enjoyed it do much we travelled back down from Oxford in the early evening to stay the night. We had dinner there as well and the food was excellent and reasonable. The staff are really friendly as are the locals. I recommend a try of the local sloe gin, I'm not a spirit drinker but it was truely lovely. The rooms are a good size, nothing fancy. The breakfast was good with local sausages, bacon and eggs used. We would really recommend it.

“Pleasantly Surprised” 4 of 5 stars

Date of review: 15 May 2011

I just wrote out loads of good things to say about this venue. Clicked preview and it all disappeared. Not typing it all out again, suffice to say i had a great evening there last night.

“Countryside pub & accommodation with great food & friendly staff”

During spontaneous Easter break we were looking for a B&B on Easter Sunday but had few hopes of success. However we found The Swan in an idyllic village called Inkpen. The staff made us so welcome, the food was locally produced & delicious and the accommodation was the best that we'd had during the break. Really good area for nice walks in the country if you want to get away from the crowds. Highly recommended.

"Great food, great location, friendly staff'

Date of review: 31 Mar 2011

Having visited The Swan for the first time at lunchtime on Saturday, we were very warmly welcomed by the

staff and enjoyed the best lunch we have had for a long time.

The food was fresh, well prepared and extremely delicious.

A great find and we will certainly be returning. We look forward to sampling their evening restaurant.

JH – Gastronaut 17th April 2011

We had lunch at the Swan Inn on Sat. We ate in the pub side of the restaurant. It was a nice pub with good food. The Cygnet restaurant looked lovely. Think it's only open for evenings. Would go back to try it.